×

Recommended by

Indexed by

Porous functionalized polymers enable generating and transporting hyperpolarized mixtures of metabolites

Théo El Darai1,2*, Samuel Cousin1*, Quentin Stern1*, Morgan Ceillier1*, James Kempf3*, Dmitry Eshchenko4*, Roberto Melzi5*, Marc Schnell4*, Laurent Gremillard6*, Aurélien Bornet1*, Jonas Milani1*, Basile Vuichoud1*, Olivier Cala1*, Damien Montarnal2*, Sami Jannin1*

1 Univ. Lyon, Centre de RMN à Très Hauts Champs de Lyon, FRE2034 - CNRS/UCBL/ENS de Lyon, 5 rue de la Doua, 69100 Villeurbanne, France.

2 Univ Lyon, CPE Lyon, CNRS, Catalyse, Chimie, Polymères et Procédés, UMR 5265, F-69003, Lyon, France

3 Bruker Biospin, Billerica, Massachusetts 01821, United States

4 Bruker Biospin, 8117 Fallanden, Switzerland

5 Bruker Italia Srl, 20158 Milano, Italy

6 Univ Lyon, INSA Lyon, MATEIS UMR CNRS 5510, Bât. Blaise Pascal, 7 Avenue Jean Capelle, Villeurbanne, France

* Corresponding authors emails: theo.el-darai@univ-lyon1.fr, samuel.cousin@univ-lyon1.fr, quentin.chappuis@univ-lyon1.fr, morgan.ceillier@univ-lyon1.fr, james.Kempf@bruker.com, Dmitry.Eshchenko@bruker.com, Roberto.Melzi@bruker.com, Marc.Schnell@bruker.com, laurent.gremillard@insa-lyon.fr, aurelien.bornet@epfl.ch, jonas.milani@epfl.ch, Basile.VUICHOUD@firmenich.com, olivier.cala@univ-lyon1.fr, damien.montarnal@univ-lyon1.fr, sami.jannin@univ-lyon1.fr
DOI10.24435/materialscloud:kv-6q [version v1]

Publication date: May 31, 2021

How to cite this record

Théo El Darai, Samuel Cousin, Quentin Stern, Morgan Ceillier, James Kempf, Dmitry Eshchenko, Roberto Melzi, Marc Schnell, Laurent Gremillard, Aurélien Bornet, Jonas Milani, Basile Vuichoud, Olivier Cala, Damien Montarnal, Sami Jannin, Porous functionalized polymers enable generating and transporting hyperpolarized mixtures of metabolites, Materials Cloud Archive 2021.79 (2021), doi: 10.24435/materialscloud:kv-6q.

Description

Hyperpolarization by dissolution dynamic nuclear polarization (dDNP) has enabled promising applications in spectroscopy and imaging, but remains poorly widespread due to experimental complexity. Broad democratization of dDNP would require remote preparation and distribution of hyperpolarized samples from dedicated facilities. We describe here new hyperpolarizing polymers (HYPOPs) that can generate radical- and contaminant-free hyperpolarized samples within minutes with lifetimes exceeding hours in the solid state. HYPOPs feature tunable macroporous porosity, with porous volumes up to 80% and concentration of nitroxide radicals grafted in the bulk matrix up to 285 μmol g-1. Analytes can be efficiently impregnated as aqueous/alcoholic solutions and hyperpolarized up to P(13C) =25% within 8 min, through the combination of 1H spin diffusion and 1H →13C cross polarization. Solutions of 13C-analytes of biological interest hyperpolarized in HYPOPs display a very long solid-state 13C relaxation times of 5.7 h at 3.8 K, thus prefiguring transportation over long distances.

Materials Cloud sections using this data

No Explore or Discover sections associated with this archive record.

Files

File name Size Description
BET data.zip
MD5md5:e8c4a6a7a71cbb6a91e1f0810b7b5303
158.5 KiB N2 adsorption isotherms of porous polymers containing XX mmol/g of nitroxide radicals.
Dissolution data.zip
MD5md5:55adc12a696abc173e16eb7c95bb03cc
25.2 MiB Raw NMR files (Topspin format) related to dissolution experiments
DNP data.zip
MD5md5:a88f9f4b5dda410050cea6a4403193ec
255.5 MiB Raw NMR files (Topspin format) related to DNP experiments
Poro Hg.zip
MD5md5:0731c10ab6faed04949b046a842e9b37
63.3 KiB Hg intrusion porosimetry of porous polymers containing XX mmol/g of nitroxide radicals.
RPE data.zip
MD5md5:9ae778c99acd97350ddb7109b7850f31
369.2 KiB RPE characterization of porous polymers
Scripts_Matlab.zip
MD5md5:0fc9a5426aab8ef354175ed648c2a80b
16.1 KiB Matlab scripts for generating the graphs shown in the paper

License

Files and data are licensed under the terms of the following license: Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International.
Metadata, except for email addresses, are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution Share-Alike 4.0 International license.

External references

Preprint (Paper in which the data is discussed)
T. El Darai, S. Cousin, Q. Stern, M. Ceillier, J. Kempf, D. Eshchenko, R. Melzi, M. Schnell, L. Gremillard, A. Bornet, J. Milani, B. Vuichoud, O. Cala, D. Montarnal and S. Jannin, submitted doi:10.21203/rs.3.rs-123790/v1

Keywords

DNP porous polymers hyperpolarization Experimental

Version history:

2021.79 (version v1) [This version] May 31, 2021 DOI10.24435/materialscloud:kv-6q